This title appears in the Scientific Report : 2013 

Scattering methods for condensed matter research towards novel applications at future sources this spring school was organized by the Jülich Centre for Neutron Science, the Peter Grünberg Institute, the Institute of Complex Systems and the Institute for Advanced Simulation of the Forschungszentrum Jülich on 5 - 6 March 2012
Angst, Manuel
Brückel, Thomas / Richter, Dieter / Zorn, Reiner (Eds. )
Neutronenstreuung; ICS-1
Neutronenstreuung; JCNS-1
Streumethoden; PGI-4
Streumethoden; JCNS-2
Jülich Forschungszentrum, Zentralbibliothek 2012
Getr. Pag.
Soft Matter Composites
Schriften des Forschungszentrums Jülich. Reihe Schlüsseltechnologien / key technologies 33
Lecture notes of the IFF spring school 43
Please use the identifier: in citations.
Most of what we know about structure and dynamics of condensed matter systems on an atomic length- and timescale stems from X-ray and neutron scattering. The IFF Spring School 2012 comes timely to the centennial anniversary of the discovery of X-ray scattering from single crystals by Max von Laue, Walter Friedrich and Paul Knipping in 1912. Their breakthrough discovery proved the wave nature of X-rays as well as the microscopic structure of crystals as being composed of periodic arrangements of atoms. In 1914 the Noble prize was awarded to Max von Laue for this discovery. Most of our present-day knowledge on the atomic structure of crystalline and amorphous matter is based on the work following Max von Laue employing laboratory X-ray sources for X-ray crystallography. Since the middle of last century synchrotron radiation with its unique properties was employed for more challenging studies, e.g. in macromolecular crystallography. With the advent of research reactors nearly 40 years later, neutron scattering came into play with its alternate contrast mechanism, its sensitivity to atomic magnetism and collective excitations in solids. Again the Noble prize was awarded to the two pioneers of neutron diffraction and inelastic scattering, Clifford Shull and Bertram Brockhouse, in 1994....